• Formed: (United States) Akron, Ohio
  • Broke-Up:
  • Reunited:

New-wave group popular throughout the late 1970s and early 1980s, formed by a group of art students at Kent State University, principally Mark Mothersbaugh and Jerry Casale. Their name comes from the central concept of "de-evolution" - the idea that mankind is devolving instead of evolving.

After releasing several records on their own Booji Boy label, their work on the short film The Truth About De-Evolution in 1976 got them signed to Warner Brothers, where they had a major hit in 1980 with the single "Whip It". After 1980, their career continuously faded from the public eye until the band called it quits in the early 1990s. However, they reformed for a series of live dates in 2004.

Mark Mothersbaugh: vocals, keyboards, guitar
Gerald V. Casale: vocals, bass, keyboards
Bob Mothersbaugh (Bob I): lead guitar, vocals
Bob Casale (Bob II): rhythm guitar, keyboards, vocals
Jim Mothersbaugh (1974-1976): drums
Alan Myers (1976-1985): drums
David Kendrick (1986-1990): drums
Josh Freese (1995-current): drums
Fred Armisen (2018) drums


Login or Register to post a comment